Literary Award Sites

Bookletters Bestsellers & Awards - These bestseller and awards lists include cover art for each title and links that bring you directly into our catalog to search for availability or place a hold on the title.


Booker Prize - Established in 1968 and awarded annually, the prestigious Booker Prize aims to reward the best novel published in English by a citizen of the United Kingdom or Republic of Ireland. (Who is eligible for the prize? Any full-length novel, written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland and published this year, is eligible for the prize. The novel must be an original work in English (not a translation) and must not be self-published.)

Costa Book Awards - Established in 1971 as The Whitbread Book Awards, the Costa Book Awards aim to celebrate and promote the best of contemporary writing in the UK. Award categories include poetry, biography, novel, first novel, and children's book.

International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award - Selected libraries in capital and major cities throughout the world nominate works of fiction for this award established in 1995.

National Book Awards - Sponsored by the National Book Foundation these awards have been given since 1950 to exceptional books in Fiction, Young People's Literature, Nonfiction and Poetry.

National Book Critics Circle Award - Every year, the National Book Critics Circle presents awards for the finest books published in English. Categories include: Fiction, General Nonfiction, Biography & Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism.

Nobel Prize in Literature Site - Go to this site for information about the Nobel Prize in Literature and a list of Nobel Prize Laureates that go back as far as 1901.  

PEN New England - PEN New England presents two literary awards each year, the Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award for a first book of fiction and the L.L. Winship/PEN New England award honoring a book about New England or by a New England author.

Pulitzer Prize - Nine Pulitzer prizes were originally bestowed in 1917 for excellence in journalism, letters & drama, and education. Today, the Pulitzer Prize board awards 21 prizes for excellence in journalism, photography, literature, music, and drama.  


Edgars and Other MWA Awards - The Edgar Allen Poe awards are awarded to authors of distinguished work in various mystery categories. Links to information about the Grand Master Award, The Ellery Queen Award, The Robert L. Fish Memorial Award, and the Raven Award are also available on this page.

Shamus Awards - Created in 1981, the Shamus Award is given by the Private Eye Writers of America to honor excellent work in the Private Eye genre.

Science Fiction

Hugo Awards - The Hugo award is given annually by the World Science Fiction Society for science fiction achievement. Included on this page are links to the following science fiction awards: The John W. Campbell Memorial Award for Best New Writer, Special Awards, and The Gandalf Award.

Nebula Awards - Since 1965, the Nebula Awards, chosen by members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, have been given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story in science fiction.

New England

Massachusetts Book Awards - Awarded annually to Massachusetts authors for significant achievement in fiction, nonfiction, poetry and children's literature during the previous year.

New England Book Awards - Established in 1990 by the New England Booksellers Association, the purpose of these awards is to promote New England authors and publishers who have produced a body of work that stands as a significant contribution to New England's culture.

New England Science Fiction Association (NESFA) Awards - The New England Science Fiction Association presents two awards, the Gaughan, for emerging science fiction artists, and the Skylark, for a person who has contributed significantly to science fiction.

Updated 10/4/2019