#### **North Kingstown Free Library**

#### **Board of Trustees**

Board Chair, Elizabeth C. Suvari

Trustees: Varuna Abeywardane, Rini Georgekutty, Dianne Izzo, Tom Sgouros, Will Valverde, Stacey

Weinstein

# Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes Monday, July 8, 2024

**PRESENT WERE:** Varuna Abeywardane, Rini Georgekutty, Tom Sgouros, Dianne Izzo, Elizabeth Suvari, Stacey Weinstein, Megan Weeden (Library Director), Jennifer Boettger (Assistant Director); Will Valverde was absent.

- **1. Call To Order:** The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the North Kingstown Free Library was called to order by Board Chair Elizabeth Suvari at 7:00 p.m.
- 2. Pursuant to RIGL 42-46-6(c) Notice of this meeting has been posted on the Secretary of State's website.

# 3. Approval of Minutes of the June 10, 2024 meeting

VOTED unanimously to approve the minutes of the June 10, 2024 meeting as presented (motion made by Diane Izzo, seconded by Tom Sgouros).

### 4. Budget & Finance Report—Megan Weeden

a. Library Director Weeden gave a FY24 budget report. There's still a lot of year-end entries that need to happen so it's hard to tell where we are. It's showing that we still have \$15k in encumbrances and also there's payroll that hasn't posted. From her spreadsheets, she thinks we'll finish the year with a little over 10k that we didn't spend due to staffing vacancies.

## 5. Director's Report

Library Director presented her report, including statistics for circulation, visitors and eZone usage. Stacey requested that the graphics and other information be provided ahead of time in the future so they can ask questions.

#### 6. New Business

a. Discussion/Vote: Annual Meeting/Election of Officers

There was discussion about the procedures for the Election of Officers, the Trustee Bylaws, the Annual Meeting and the town's charter.

The board VOTED for Elizabeth Suvari to remain chair until her term expires. Motion was made by Rini Georgekutty seconded by Diane Izzo. The board will vote again at the next meeting and continue discussion of Bylaws, Annual Meeting and Election of Officers.

- 7. Public Comment: There was no public comment.
- **8. Adjournment**: VOTED unanimously to adjourn at 7:45 p.m. (motion made by Tom Sgouros, seconded by Varuna Abeywardane).

Respectfully submitted, Megan Weeden, Library Director